I had an epiphany this week: I want so badly for someone to share Jesus with those people who are on my heart, and it occurred to me, as I fumbled around with putting spiritual things into my conversation with an unsaved friend, what if I’m The Sharer someone else is praying for? What if some mother, brother, sister, grandma, spouse is out there praying for someone to share God’s Love and the Gospel with the person I’m standing next to? Have I failed God by being silent? Have I failed this brother or sister I’ve never met?

I know if God is calling the person I stood next to, He will still work out His will and bring them to Him, but what if my stepping stone could have been the quickening one? Wouldn’t I want the believing coworkers or friends to speak up to that person I’m praying for?

Maybe we should start being for others what we want them to be for us. Maybe we should start taking God seriously when He says “tell everyone what God has done for you.” (Luke 8:39)  It’s great to be ecstatic about God at church. Believers needs the encouragement, the push to be equally in awe of God. But don’t we need to shine the same ecstatic light before our unbelieving friends?

Yes, I know the chance of rejection is greater. Sometimes the circumstances aren’t perfect (for instance, employers and coworkers frown on religion in the work place). Some friends will shut you down before you start, but your light might be the only light that person next to you will ever see. That being so, what impression are you making for God?

God doesn’t stop doing awesome things just because you walked out the church doors.

“For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’s sake. For God who said, ‘ Let light shine out of darkness,’ has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”

2 Corinthians 4: 5-6

Leave a Reply

